Published On February 12, 2013 | By Paul Kneitz | Featured, Grunge Report, Mad Season, Mark Lanegan

Mad Season, 1995.

Barrett Martin recently revealed that “Locomotive” featuring Mark Lanegan, the first single from Mad Season’s upcoming ‘Above’ box set, will be released soon. Now, has uploaded previews of all songs from Mad Season’s new box set, including the tracks featuring Mark Lanegan and audio tracks from Mad Season’s 1995 concert at the Moore Theatre in Seattle.

You can preview the new tracks from Mad Season’s ‘Above’ reissue¬†here.

Thanks to an anonymous reader for the tip.

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Bio: Paul started writing for AlternativeNation in August 2012. He grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area and currently lives in Seattle, Washington. Contact: paul (at)


  1. Ben says:

    What a tease! Can’t wait for the release!

    I really hope one day they will release all the instrumental tracks even if they are just demos.

    Infact it would be great if they actually teamed up with Mark Lanegan under the name Disinformation and released a new album – unfortunately I doubt this will happen though.

    Either way I’m just glad we can hear some of these tracks and the live DVD release will be awesome! I never expected this too happen.

  2. lilrockable says:

    ^^^ right? Yeah I’m excited for this but I wanted those demos. Think about it could have been a four disc set, the above remaster, the live album, the DVD, and the Disinformation songs. Mad Season’s Disinformation could have been a tribute to Layne and John in the sense that Temple of the Dog’s self-titled was a tribute to Andrew Wood. Again, I’m grateful that this is coming out, but I don’t like the idea that they are wasting very good songs

  3. Ben says:

    All we can do is hope that these songs do meet the light of day…. one day!
    I agree – releasing them as a tribute album would have been perfect. I was a little disappointed when it found out that only some songs were being released and not all the whole recordings, but as I said above I didn’t expect to ever get to hear the second album so I’m pretty stocked that we will get to hear atleast a few songs off it!

  4. paulonious says:


  5. me says:

    neat piece of music history. thanks paul

  6. Brett Buchanan says:

    Can’t fucking wait for these three new songs, clips sound very promising.

  7. YUMMyyyyyy says:

    Layne was a big dude

  8. Kram says:

    I haven’t looked forward to a music release in so long. Cannot wait to watch the live show with DVD quality and surround sound!

  9. Pingback: Aperitivos de la reedición de "Alive" (Mad Season) |

  10. Mia says:

    I’m getting so excited about this! The new songs with Mark sound very promising and I can’t wait to see Live at the Moore on DVD!

  11. lilrockable says:

    yo Brett AliceChains have almost released their new album title
    , go to blabbermouth

  12. bon3z says:

    Doesn’t sound like Mad Season a lot, but still i really want this stuff… Top#1 band, along with AiC, BMelon, Buckleys (both)

  13. MindRiot132 says:

    Can’t fucking wait, this is going to be so bad ass. Oh and Lanegan can do no wrong, new songs sound amazing…

  14. Deviate says:

    Dunno how you are hearing previews. I don’t even see the play buttons. But whatever, April ain’t that far away. I can wait.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>