Published On February 27, 2013 | By Paul Kneitz | Featured, Grunge Report

Mad Season, 1995.

Mad Season has released a new EPK for the upcoming Above deluxe reissue. In a statement from Barrett Martin, the drummer states that the official trailer includes a “combination of old interviews and a new one that [he and Mike McCready] just did in Seattle. The EPK also includes “great live footage of the band from 1994-95 with Layne and Mark.”

Watch the new trailer for Mad Season’s Above here. The Above reissue will be released April 2, 2013.

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Bio: Paul started writing for AlternativeNation in August 2012. He is originally from the San Francisco Bay Area and currently lives in Seattle, Washington. Contact this writer:
  • Stolzzie

    Wow cool stuff! Never expected to see mad season stuff in this quality..

  • Kaylian

    Does anyone know if there will be a vinyl edition of the reissue?

  • Mia

    I thought Barrett’s description of the album was right on. I’ve always thought that album had a “dark beauty” like he said, but that ultimately the music “ascended” out of that darkness and transcended it.


    Layne is bosss…Babe!!..Babe!!!…Babe!!!!

  • Ace

    This is the best thing I have ever seen.

  • mikewails

    One of the greatest albums of the 90s, if not, THE greatest of the 90s.

  • Kris

    Agreed! Above was something special and definately one of the best of the 90′s! Can’t wait to see footage of Layne!

  • Blake

    Can’t wait for this!!!

  • paulonious

    that’s probably the best EPK I’ve ever seen.

  • Shadows Collide with People

    This just made my day. I cannot wait for this.

  • Raj

    Cool trailer, seeing Layne play guitar on ‘I Don’t Know Anything’ was awesome and a rare sight.

  • chris

    Makes me even more giddy with anticipation! For some reason, however, I can’t get the EPK to play all the way through, but what I was able to see brings a question to mind, or maybe I’m misunderstanding this. McCready and Martin speak of the three songs finished for the re-release with Lanegan’s vocals as part of many left-over ideas that were around when they recorded “Above.” Could this mean that they were tunes Layne had a hand in writing and just never got around to penning lyrics for? After all, it was my understanding that those songs were what was recorded for the aborted follow-up LP.

  • Paul Kneitz

    ^Here’s the EPK on youtube, though the vimeo version has higher quality.

  • Deviate

    I’m hoping they eventually release the rest of, or at least a few more of those unfinished tracks. Even if they were instrumentals.

  • Kathrin

    wonderful, I’m eagerly waiting

  • Ray

    There will be a vinyl edition of the release. It’s coming in april on record store day I believe.