Listen To Alice In Chains’ First Studio Release In 3 Years


Earlier, Alternative Nation reported that there was a new Dave Grohl/Taylor Hawkins cover of “Overture” from Rush’s 2112 album. Now it’s Alice in Chains’ turn.

A new deluxe reissue is coming out in December of Rush’s seminal album 2112. On the bonus disc of this release, big names like Alice in Chains, Dave Grohl/Taylor Hawkins cover the Rush album. Both cover versions are currently on YouTube.

And a very funny comical Dave Grohl choosing a fan to come up and sing the famous Rush song “Tom Sawyer” – “nobody goes to a karaoke bar and knows all the lyrics to “Tom Sawyer”.

The newly released LP will include rare live and previously unreleased material as well as covers from Foo Fighters‘ Dave Grohl and Taylor Hawkins, Alice in Chains, Porcupine Tree’s Steven Wilson and more.
The reissue will be titled ‘2112 – 40th’ and is set to be released in a variety of formats on Dec 16. A 2CD/DVD edition will feature a newly remastered version of the album with the second disc featuring live outtakes.
Grohl, Hawkins and Nick Raskulinecz cover of ‘Overture’; Alice in Chains cover of ‘Tears’ and Billy Talent’s ‘A Passage to Bangkok’ cover will also feature on the second disc.

Rush’s 1976 performance at the Capitol Theatre is captured on the DVD as well as a video for Grohl/Hawkins/Raskulinecz’s ‘Overture’ cover and a Q&A with Rush’s Alex Lifeson.

There will also be a Super Deluxe version of the reissue which will include the 2CD/DVD set alongside a 3LP 200-gram vinyl version as well as a variety of bonus items housed in a box lined with velvet flocking: Two 12-inch x 12-inch lithos (artist Hugh Syme’s original Starman pencil sketching and a 1976 Massey Hall ticket stub), a reprint of the 1976 Massey Hall handbill and three buttons featuring each band member.
You can see the ‘2112 – 40th’ tracklisting below.
Disc 1: Original Album Newly Remastered by Abbey Road Studios
I. Overture
II. The Temples of Syrinx
III. Discovery
IV. Presentation
V. Oracle: The Dream
VI. Soliloquy
VII. Grand Finale
2. A Passage to Bangkok
3. The Twilight Zone
4. Lessons
5. Tears
6. Something for Nothing
Disc 2
1. Solar Federation
2. Dave Grohl, Taylor Hawkins and Nick Raskulinecz – Overture
3. Billy Talent – A Passage to Bangkok
4. Steven Wilson – The Twilight Zone
5. Alice In Chains – Tears
6. Jacob Moon – Something for Nothing
7. 2112 – Live at Massey Hall 1976 Outtake
8. Something for Nothing – Live at Massey Hall 1976 Outtake
9. The Twilight Zone – Live 1977 Contraband
10. 2112 1976 Radio Ad
DVD: Live at Capitol Theatre 1976
1. Bastille Day
2. Anthem
3. Lakeside Park
4. 2112
5. Fly by Night
6. In the Mood
Bonus Videos
Overture: Dave Grohl, Taylor Hawkins and Nick Raskulinecz
A Passage to Bangkok: Behind the Scenes with Billy Talent
2112 – 40 Years Closer: A Q&A with Alex Lifeson and Terry Brown
The first 1,000 fans that preorder the Super Deluxe edition will also receive a limited edition 7-inch pressing of the album’s first single ‘The Twilight Zone’ backed by ‘Lessons’ and a custom red star 45 large hole adapter ring designed by Syme.