Smashing Pumpkins Reunion Album Leak Is Here


The Smashing Pumpkins’ new album Shiny and Oh So Bright Vol. 1/LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun. has leaked, Has It Leaked reports. The album reunites original Smashing Pumpkins members Billy Corgan, James Iha, and Jimmy Chamberlin for the first time since the MACHINA albums in 2000.

Fans have already heard singles “Solara”, “Silvery Sometimes (Ghosts)”, and “Knights of Malta”, so five songs remained unheard until now on this short album, which clocks in at 31 minutes.

“Travels” is a midtempo rocker that has some shades of Zwan and 2010’s Smashing Pumpkins material like “Tom Tom”. “Alienation” is a piano driven ballad with strings to start before the guitars kick in, and melodically sounds like a continuation of Monuments to an Elegy.

For fans looking for a song that recaptures the heavy 90’s Smashing Pumpkins sound, “Marchin’ On” features similar vocal delivery and guitar riffage from tracks off of Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness. Obviously the angst from “Jellybelly” is no longer there, but this may be the closest Billy Corgan has come to recapturing that sonic sound in a long time.

“With Sympathy” sounds like it picks up where the poppier tracks on MACHINA/The Machines of God left off, and like it could have been a B-side to the “Try Try Try” single. James Iha provides backing vocals on the song, which was reportedly co-written by Jimmy Chamberlin. For fans looking to see where Corgan, Iha, and Chamberlin might pick up where they left off from their last record together 18 years ago, this is a natural progression from MACHINA. “Seek and You Shall Destroy” is another short rocker to close out the record, though not quite as frenetic as “Marchin’ On”.