Weezer Announce Van Halen Tribute Release Date


Weezer will release ‘Van Weezer’ on May 7th, their homage to Van Halen. The band’s 15th album is produced by Suzy Shinn. The inspiration for this album derives from the deepest roots of Weezer — metal! What has metal got to do with Weezer, you ask? In his earliest years, guitarist/vocalist Rivers Cuomo was a huge KISS fan; guitarist Brian Bell was a big Black Sabbath fan; drummer Patrick Wilson worshipped at the altar of Van Halen and Rush; bassist Scott Shriner loved Slayer and Metallica. The last time this vein of harder rock was mined by Weezer was on their much-loved 2002 album “Maladroit”; “Van Weezer” is primed to take that album’s sonics many steps further courtesy of Shinn.

“Van Weezer” follows the release of the band’s first-ever orchestral album, “OK Human”, earlier this year. “OK Human”‘s lead single, “All My Favorite Songs”, hit #1 at Triple A radio, and is currently top 5 and growing at Alternative.

Weezer has sold over 10 million albums in the U.S., and over 35 million records worldwide since its debut album’s release in 1994. The catalogue has included such megahits as “Buddy Holly”, “Undone (The Sweater Song)”, “Say It Ain’t So”, “El Scorcho”, “Hash Pipe”, “Island In The Sun”, “Beverly Hills”, “Pork And Beans” and more.

Weezer’s previously-released songs from the record “The End of the Game,” “Hero” and “Beginning of the End” will all appear on Van Weezer, due May 7 via Crush Music/Atlantic Records.

Check out the complete track list for Van Weezer and hear “I Need Some Of That” below.

1. “Hero”

2. “All the Good Ones”

3. “The End of the Game”

4. “I Need Some of That”

5. “Beginning of the End”

6. “Blue Dream”

7. “1 More Hit”

8. “Sheila Can Do It”

9. “She Needs Me”

10. “Precious Metal Girl”