Dave Abbruzzese Responds To Pearl Jam Rock Hall of Fame Snub


Former Pearl Jam drummers Dave Abbruzzese and Jack Irons were snubbed yesterday when the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame revealed that they were not included in the nominated Pearl Jam lineup, which includes: Eddie Vedder, Mike McCready, Stone Gossard, Jeff Ament, Matt Cameron, and Dave Krusen.

Alternative Nation was able to track down Dave Abbruzzese’s Facebook reaction to the snub.

“It’s just a fine opportunity to see what Pearl Jam has to say in response. Let’s see if they do the right thing. It’ll be interesting to see the spin that is put on it.

That band and its management have never been ones to shy away when an injustice is done. Let’s see if they still have the courage to fight the good fight!”

He also wrote.

“I’ve seen them change a 15 year old settlement agreement just by ignoring its contents and withholding money that didn’t belong to them in order to force me to accept the changes. They know how to play the game…their way!”

Abbruzzese drummed for Pearl Jam on the Ten tour, and played on Vs. and Vitalogy, before his 1994 firing from the band. Jack Irons drummed on the Vitalogy tour, and played on No Code and Yield.

You can click here to vote for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame now!

VOLUME (Ch. 106), SiriusXM’s new all-music talk channel that launched Monday, kicked off its second day with the unveiling of the 2017 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame nominees on the morning show Feedback.

Hosts Lori Majewski and Nik Carter were joined live by Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation CEO Joel Peresman and 2014 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductee Stevie Van Zandt, who announced the coming year’s crop of artists.

The list features newly eligible artists Pearl Jam and Tupac Shakur as well as the previously nominated Janet Jackson, Chaka Khan, Kraftwerk, Yes, Chic, The Cars, The Zombies, Joe Tex, J. Geils Band, MC5, and previously eligible artists (on ballot for the first time) Bad Brains, Depeche Mode, Electric Light Orchestra, Jane’s Addiction, Joan Baez, Journey, and Steppenwolf.

To be eligible for nomination, an individual artist or band must have released its first single or album at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination. The 2017 Nominees had to release their first recording no later than 1991.

Ballots will be sent to an international voting body of more than 800 artists, historians and members of the music industry. Factors such as an artist’s musical influence on other artists, length and depth of career and the body of work, innovation and superiority in style and technique are taken into consideration.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame will again offer fans the opportunity to officially participate in the induction selection process. Beginning October 18 and continuing through 11:59 p.m. EST on December 5, 2016, fans can visit rockhall.com to cast votes for who they believe to be most deserving of induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. The top five artists, as selected by the public, will comprise a “fans’ ballot” that will be tallied along with the other ballots to choose the 2017 inductees. Fans will need to login with a Facebook account or email to vote. Voting is capped at one ballot per day.

SiriusXM will broadcast the induction ceremony, which takes place in April 2017 at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn on Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Radio (Ch. 310). In addition to the live announcement of the 2017 nominees, there will be a special series of shows leading up to the induction ceremony as SiriusXM will feature special broadcasts throughout the year devoted to the Rock Hall’s inductees past and present.