Jerry Cantrell Confirms New Layne Staley Album In 2021


Jerry Cantrell and Sean Kinney are set to honor their late Alice In Chains bandmates Layne Staley and Mike Starr with a new Facelift 30th anniversary reissue on January 29, 2021. The album was originally released on August 21, 1990 on Columbia Records, and it was the first Grunge album to go Gold and have a radio with with “Man in the Box,” a year before anybody had heard of Pearl Jam and Nirvana.

An unseen Layne Staley album cover was just recently revealed. One of the first releases of the pre-grunge era, “Facelift” introduced the world to Layne Staley, Jerry Cantrell, Sean Kinney and Mike Starr. Certified platinum many times over, the LP includes the hit singles “Man In The Box”, “Bleed The Freak”, “We Die Young” and “Sea Of Sorrow”.

The “Facelift” custom deluxe box set packaging includes:

* Acrylic deluxe box with gel transparencies
* 2XLP vinyl picture disc
* Exclusive cassette
* Custom hardcover photo book
* Two-sided poster (folded, 23.5-inch square)
* 12″ slipmat
* Sticker sheet
* Tour laminate
* Four art prints

01. We Die Young
02. Man in the Box
03. Sea Of Sorrow
04. Bleed The Freak
05. I Can’t Remember
06. Love, Hate, Love
07. It Ain’t Like That
08. Sunshine
09. Put You Down
10. Confusion
11. I Know Somethin (Bout You)
12. Real Thing

Alice In Chains released Rainier Fog in 2018, and wrapped up touring for the album last year. Jerry Cantrell is currently working on his first solo album since 2002’s Degradation Trip.