Linkin Park’s Mike Shinoda Sings Chester Bennington’s Vocals At Emotional Show


Linkin Park singer/guitarist Mike Shinoda played his first solo show on Saturday at the KROQ Weenie Roast in Los Angeles. Shinoda mashed up some Linkin Park songs along with his solo material, singing some of Chester Bennington’s parts from songs like “Bleed It Out.” He played “In The End” on piano and let the fans sing most of Chester’s vocal parts, though at times he came in and sang his parts. Watch the full set below.

01. Welcome 0:00
02. Good Goodbye/Bleed It Out 3:30
03. About You 6:38
04. Over Again/Papercut 9:40
05. In The End (Piano Version) 15:56
06. Waiting For The End/Where’d You Go 20:07
07. Crossing A Line 23:57
08. Remember The Name 28:17

Deftones frontman Chino Moreno and rapper Machine Gun Kelly are among the guests who appear on Linkin Park singer/guitarist Mike Shinoda’s upcoming solo album, Post Traumatic.

The tracklisting for the effort is as follows:

01. Place To Start
02. Over Again
03. Watching As I Fall
04. Nothing Makes Sense Anymore
05. About You (feat. Blackbear)
06. Brooding (instrumental)
07. Promises I Can’t Keep
09. Hold It Together
10. Ghosts
11. Make It Up As I Go (feat. K.Flay)
12. Lift Off (feat. Chino Moreno & Machine Gun Kelly)
13. I.O.U.
14. Running From My Shadow (feat. Grandson)
15. World’s On Fire
16. Can’t Hear You Now

Shinoda spoke with ET Canada about the songwriting process for “Post Traumatic”, which is due on June 15. He explained: “It started in a really dark place. In the beginning, I wasn’t leaving my house. It felt very claustrophobic, having lost one of my closest friends and collaborators. We associate who we are, to some degree, with what we do, so I felt very lost.”

He continued: “The experience of this last year has been crazy, and I wanted to put it into music, not only to just put a stamp on it and say, ‘This happened,’ but also to allow the fans and the people who have been along for the ride, to guide them on that journey in terms of keeping up with my narrative or understanding where I’m at.”