Watch Pearl Jam & Red Hot Chili Peppers Join Forces For Epic Collaboration


Pearl Jam were joined on stage by Red Hot Chili Peppers members Chad Smith and Josh Klinghoffer in Rio de Janeiro on Wednesday night to perform “Rockin’ in the Free World.” See a full show recap below posted by Sea on the Ten Club boards followed by videos.


01. Release
02. Low Light
03. Elderly Woman Behind The Counter In A Small Town

(Ed briefly greets the audience and says they are loud.)

04. Go
05. All Night
06. Animal

(Ed talks to the audience in Portuguese. He talks about the big show or audience and drinks from a giant bottle of wine. He says a few other things and then in English he compliments their singing. He introduces Mike McCready)

07. Given To Fly
08. In Hiding
09. Jeremy
(Ed goes down to the barricade during the second verse of Jeremy. He covers both sides and a bit of the middle)

(Once again EV chats in Portuguese. He also introduces Ed. The audience chants something but I am unable to determine what it was )

10. Corduroy (extended instrumental section and outro)
11. Even Flow
12. Immortality
(Ed introduces Matt in Português. He dedicates the next song to the Red Hot Chili Peppers. He says the Peppers have thousands of good songs and “Behind The Sun” is one of them)

13. Wishlist (Vedder sings the word “Olé” over and over during the outro)
14. Mind Your Manners

(“This is for our friends in Buenos Aires”)
15. Lightning Bolt
16. Garden
(Ed brings out a special guest to play the most important instrument for this song, The cowbell. Chad Smith from the Red Hot Chili Peppers. Ed says the good thing about when you have a terrible leader of your country is that it means that the citizens must do the leading)

17. Can’t Deny Me (with Chad Smith on cowbell)

(Ed brings out the guitar that a local luthier built and gave him when Ed did his solo shows here.. He introduces it as his Brazilian guitar. The audience chants Sergio so they appear to know who made it for him.

18. Porch (during Porch the new globes come down from the light rigging. They are sturdier and larger than the old globes so the band doesn’t destroy them. During the instrumental break Ed puts on a Trump mask with a red clown nose and dances around. He pulls it off to finish the song. Audience member throws up a sign that Ed waves a bit. The song ends with Ed slamming the mic stand)

Encore Break
(Ed asks Kille to to light up the audience. He puts on some binoculars so he can see the back. He praises the audience for the being the first in a long time where they didn’t have to ask them to be careful and step back. He says safety is the most important thing)

19. Sleeping By Myself
20. Inside Job

(Stone is introduced in Português as Ed’s great friend)

21. Daughter/Blitzkrieg Bop-(Ramones)/WMA
22. Do The Evolution
23. Black

(Ed again addresses the crowd in their language. He apologizes in English for how bad he is. The gist seems to be about the power and vitality of women in art and society. He has some trouble remembering how the song start and not even a big pull of wine helps. After imploring Stone to start the song Ed finally kicks it off.)

24. Leaving Here-(Holland, Holland, Dozier)
(This is thank you to the opening band, Royal Blood. This is royal Blood)
25. Blood
26. Better Man/I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend-(Tommy Ramone/Save It For Later-(Charley, Cox, Morton, Steele, Wakeling)
27. Alive
28. Rockin’ In The Free World-(Young) Josh (guitar) and Chad drums with Matt from the Red Hot Chili Peppers join the band. Towards the end of the song Chad and Matt swap places so Chad is at the drum kit and Matt is standing behind him hitting the floor tom

29. Yellow Ledbetter-Ed goes down to the barricades again. A woman has a sign asking Ed to marry her. she even has rings. Exams the rings, smiles and gives the rings back.)