Red Hot Chili Peppers Members Confirm Huge New Release


Red Hot Chili Peppers members Chad Smith and Josh Klinghoffer will release a double single on April 13, 2019, which is Record Store Day, through the ORG Music label. The vinyl single will feature covers of the T. Rex classics “Jeepster” and “Monolith.” The release will be limited to 3,000 copies, and features Klinghoffer on vocals, guitar, and bass, while Smith plays drums.

Smith similarly worked on a side project in the 90’s with then Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist called Spread. The project later transformed into Navarro’s 2001 lone solo album Trust No One, which was released in 2001, and Smith was no longer involved following Navarro’s 1998 exit from the Red Hot Chili Peppers.

Josh Klinghoffer has been busy over the last year, recording another side project album with Jack Irons, the former drummer of Red Hot Chili Peppers and Pearl Jam. Red Hot Chili Peppers also began working on a new album in fall 2018, which will follow up 2016’s The Getaway. The band are currently touring in Australia, and Klinghoffer has sang lead on several covers at the shows, including a cover of Chris Cornell’s “Seasons.”

Red Hot Chili Peppers are expected to release their new album sometime this year, in what could be their quickest album turnaround since the three year wait for By the Way after Californication.