Pearl Jam & Foo Fighters Debut Grunge Supergroup


Pearl Jam and Soundgarden drummer Matt Cameron has formed Nighttime Boogie Associated with Foo Fighters drummer Taylor Hawkins, releasing two new singles “Long In The Tooth” and “The Path We’re On” today via Keep It Trippy Records. Hawkins wrote the lyrics for the first song, while Cameron wrote the music. Cameron penned the second track himself. Melvins frontman Buzz Osborne and Steven McDonald perform on the second song, turning it into a Pearl Jam/Soundgarden/Foo Fighters/Melvins supergroup.

Cameron and Hawkins first started jamming shortly after January 2019’s ‘I Am The Highway’ Chris Cornell memorial show, where Hawkins fronted the reunited Soundgarden as a guest singer. Cameron even teased clips of Hawkins singing for him on his Instagram story at the time.

In 2020 the two iconic rock icons continued their collaboration virtually and digitally, with two new singles coming to fruition, with hopes for more in 2021 based on the hopeful busy touring schedules of Pearl Jam and Foo Fighters. Pearl Jam and Foo Fighters had touring plans for 2020 postponed to 2021 due to the pandemic, and sadly it’s possible their tours could be postponed again, which would open up more time for side projects. A Fox News host ripped the Pearl Jam and Foo Fighters supergroup in 2019 when reports first came out that it was in the works.