Rock Hall of Fame Announces 2019 Inductees, Grunge Era Icons Disrespected


The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has reveled its class of 2019 inductees, and unfortunately Rage Against The Machine did not make the cut. Radiohead, The Cure, Janet Jackson, Stevie Nicks, Roxy Music, Def Leppard, and The Zombies will be inducted in April.

Devo, Kraftwerk, MC5, Rufus and Chaka Khan, and Todd Rundgren also didn’t make the cut. Radiohead did not do well in the fan vote, and were actually defeated by Rage Against The Machine. announced that Def Leppard topped the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame fan vote with 547,647 votes earlier this week.

Fleetwood Mac singer Stevie Nicks finished second with 427,844 votes. Todd Rundgren polled 365,370; The Zombies, 329,052; and The Cure, 264,443.

The other results included: Janet Jackson, 218,581; Devo, 186,754; Roxy Music, 167,307; Rage Against The Machine, 148,208; Radiohead 140,458; John Prine, 136,746; LL Cool J, 119,657; Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, 99,724; Kraftwerk, 87,456; and MC5, 85,304.

Tom Morello is on the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame committee, so Rage Against The Machine’s results are disappointing compared to the top vote getters.

Morello discussed the possibility of Rage Against The Machine getting in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in a recent Billboard interview.

“If there’s ever a year where we need some raging against the machine, it would be 2018 — but of that I have no control,” Morello says. “I looked at the ballot and I think of the 15 or so on there I would happily vote for 13 of them.” Morello adds that “there has not been discussion” among the Rage members about the nomination or what they might do if selected for induction in April.