Scott Weiland New Song Revealed 7 Years After Death


Late Stone Temple Pilots and Velvet Revolver singer Scott Weiland drew inspiration by celebrated crooners like Frank Sinatra, Bing Crosby and Nat King Cole. He had recorded a deeply personal album of holiday standards in 2011 titled “The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year”.

Scott Weiland unheard album will be released

The original 10-song collection will be expanded with four unreleased recordings for its vinyl debut this holiday season, marking the first posthumous music to be released from the Weiland vault.

Due October 21, “The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year: Deluxe Edition” will be released as two vinyl versions, one red and one green. One of the previously unreleased tracks featured on the “Deluxe Edition” is Weiland’s stirring cover of John Lennon and Yoko Ono’s anti-war anthem “Happy Xmas (War Is Over)”.

Sadly, the song’s message is as relevant today as it was when it was released in 1971. Weiland’s version is available today on all digital download and streaming services along with a new animated video for the track.

The other unreleased tracks debuting on the upcoming “Deluxe Edition” were recorded at Weiland’s Lavish Studio during rehearsals for “The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year”. They offer alternate versions of three album tracks: “White Christmas”, “Winter Wonderland” and “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas”. In addition to the bonus tracks, the “Deluxe Edition” also features newly updated album artwork.

Initially, the idea to record a holiday album grew out of Weiland’s 2009 performance of “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas” on “The Tonight Show With Jay Leno”. The singer said Sinatra’s legendary 1957 recording of the song, which featured an orchestra conducted by Gordon Jenkins, inspired his take on this sentimental favorite.

“The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year: Deluxe Edition” LP track listing:

Side A

01. Happy Xmas (War Is Over) *
02. The Christmas Song
03. I’ll Be Home For Christmas
04. White Christmas
05. Silent Night
06. It’s The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year
07. What Child Is This?

Side B

01. Winter Wonderland
02. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
03. Happy Christmas And Many More
04. O Holy Night
05. White Christmas – Lavish Studio Rehearsal *
06. Winter Wonderland – Lavish Studio Rehearsal*
07. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas – Lavish Studio Rehearsal *

* previously unreleased