Smashing Pumpkins Confirm Reunion Lineup With Incredible Photoshoot


The Smashing Pumpkins did a new photoshoot yesterday in Los Angeles, finally confirming the band’s reunion lineup. The current Pumpkins lineup is Billy Corgan, James Iha, Jimmy Chamberlin, and Jeff Schroeder, a reunion of 3/4 of the band’s original lineup. It’s unclear if the Pumpkins will be a four piece or five piece live when they tour this summer.

Schroeder had been the band’s guitarist for 11 years, and if he remains in that role then the Pumpkins will become a three guitar band like Foo Fighters, and they would have to find a touring bassist. Schroeder had been spotted playing bass in the studio though, so if he moves over to play bass live then the Pumpkins could continue as a four piece.

James Iha is rejoining the Pumpkins as an official member for the first time since his exit from the band over 17 years ago in December 2000. Iha made three guest performances with the Pumpkins in 2016. D’arcy Wretzky recently announced that she was ‘disappointed’ to be informed she wouldn’t be part of the reunion, and that she was ‘supposed’ to be involved.

“My apologies to all of the Smashing Pumpkins fans out there who are excited about this oncoming reunion tour of the original members of the band. I know this is a huge disappointment for me, as well, but it’s not going to happen [with me],” Wretzky told Blast Echo last month.

She added, “I only just found about yesterday that the band has decided to go with a different bass player.”

The reunited Pumpkins have recently been recording a comeback album in Los Angeles with producer Rick Rubin. Chamberlin last appeared on 2007’s Zeitgeist while Iha’s last Pumpkins album was 2000’s MACHINA/The Machines of God.

Below are two photos that have leaked from the new Pumpkins photoshoot.

  • Hwang Sunghyeop

    Good news!!!

    • Grace

      Google giving every one 98 US dollars per hour to complete small jobs off a home computer .. Work only for few peroid of time in a day & spend more time together with your own relatives … any individual can do this specific job!!!this Wednesday I purchased a new Lotus Esprit after just getting $20400 this last month .no doubt it is the extraordinary approach however you can now not forgive yourself if you do not have a peek at this.!wf673s:➸➸➸ http://GoogleActiveFreelanceEasyJobs/get/cash/$99/eachhour ♥u♥♥e♥♥b♥o♥♥♥b♥♥p♥♥h♥j♥l♥♥p♥♥d♥♥♥l♥♥♥c♥o♥♥v♥u♥♥♥f♥s♥♥♥a♥♥♥n♥♥♥z♥♥n♥g♥♥♥v♥♥s:::::!qg96e:wk

  • IrregularJohn

    I wonder if Wretzky exclusion has anything to do with her current looks.

    • Adam Martin

      It’s probably out of loyalty to Schroeder.

      • IrregularJohn

        Still a shame.

        • Ryan

          So you’re not a feminist? So you don’t believe women should be treated as equals to men? That’s all feminism is.

          • IrregularJohn

            I don’t like women pretending to be men and vice versa. Woman should not look like a butch dude and a guy should not look feminine.

          • Ryan

            Er okay then, thanks for that ignorant, prejudice and sheltered opinion. But what exactly has that got to do with feminism?

          • IrregularJohn

            Wow, that triggered you alright.

      • Alternative Nation

        I don’t think Jeff has anything to do at all with D’arcy being out. It was my assumption that the plan was for the touring lineup to be the original band with Jeff serving the fifth touring member on guitar/keys, but with the marketing being focused solely on the original four.

        I do think Jeff is being featured more though in stuff like photoshoots for this since D’arcy is out, so it doesn’t feel as awkward as it would if it was a photo of him and all four original members. I’m also guessing Jeff will remain on guitar (Billy did three guitars before with Zwan) and they’ll find a touring bassist, but you never know if Jeff may just move over to bass to keep the band a four piece.

        I think they really wanted D’arcy, they’ve basically waited for two years to do this since Iha’s guest performances in spring 2016. It seemed like they were waiting to see if D’arcy could pull it off, and when push came to shove for whatever reasons she couldn’t. If she got screwed out of it there is no way Iha would participate based on the tight bond they had in the past. I’ll bet it saddened Billy, James, and Jimmy to not have D’arcy join them.

        I do hope at some point D’arcy can return as a guest performer. That would be the best way to involve her at this point.

        • Corndog

          Has there been any sort of official announcement explaining why Darcy isn’t going to be part of the reunion?

          • jhonn0

            Looks like there haven’t been any official announcements about the reunion yet, so to some degree we’ll have to wait and see what the real deal is. That could be contractual to some degree… especially if things like tour dates and business things are involved. This “original four” reunion has been so hyped up, even by Billy and Jimmy themselves, it just seems such a shame to have it not happen all of a sudden.
            Also still not sure why D’arcy was on FB saying it wasn’t her giving information to that Blast Echo site about not being in the reunion and that her phone was hacked. Just raises more questions, despite how obvious things may seem. Wish they’d make an announcement already!

          • Corndog

            Yes i wish they would too. I was really happy when i heard that they were going to have an reunion with the original members, and if Darcy is not there it just completely takes the wind out of the sails for me. Just wont be the same.

  • Jep Prox