Metallica Icon Reveals ‘Rage’ After Tragic Death


Metallica guitarist Kirk Hammett tweeted about the tragic death anniversary of Slayer’s Jeff Hanneman in a tweet on Thursday. Hanneman died of liver failure on May 2, 2013, in a Southern California hospital near his home. In early 2011, Hanneman contracted necrotizing fasciitis. Reports linked this illness with a spider bite he claimed to have received while in a friend’s hot tub. In light of his illness and Slayer’s upcoming participation in the Australian Soundwave Festival tour that was set to begin on February 26, 2011, the band made the decision to play the dates without Hanneman, and on February 16, 2011, brought on Gary Holt (Exodus) to fill in for him. On May 9, 2013, the official cause of death was announced as alcohol-related cirrhosis.

Slayer tweeted, “Remembering our brother, Jeff Hanneman.

The long-lasting effect of his talent will continue to inspire us all. On this day, let’s celebrate Jeff.

May he rest in peace. (January 31, 1964 – May 2, 2013)”

Kirk Hammett tweeted, “🤘Rage In Peace, brother🤘”

Metallica kicked off their spring/summer 2019 European tour Wednesday at the Estádio Do Restelo in Lisbon, Portugal. The band played “Disposable Heroes” for the first time electrically since 2015; “The God That Failed” for the first time since 2012, and “Frantic” for the first time since 2011.

01. Hardwired
02. Disposable Heroes
03. Ride The Lightning
04. The God That Failed
05. The Unforgiven
06. Here Comes Revenge
07. Moth Into Flame
08. Sad But True
09. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
10. Frantic
11. One
12. Master Of Puppets
13. For Whom The Bell Tolls
14. Creeping Death
15. Seek & Destroy

16. Lords Of Summer
17. Nothing Else Matters
18. Enter Sandman